Cajon

I (D) love woodworking.  It’s my introverted outlet, and a chance to produce something extremely tangible (alas, there are times when ministry feels a bit intangible).  I’ve been working on a few projects lately, one of which will be unveiled in a few days when done.

This one is a cajon, Spanish for “box”, a Latin drum used in a lot of great music.  If you’ve never seen one, you sit on it and lean over, slapping the faceplate (the part with the brass screws).  The sound is perfect for syncopated funky rhythms, like flamenco and latin jazz.

Mine has a drum snare inside, which can be turned on or off using the knobs on the sides.  Play it right, and you get 3-4 different sounds.  The only bummer is that since making it a month ago, I’ve rarely been able to play it!  At church and other venues, I’m usually playing guitar.

And since my production costs were only about $30, if we fall onto hard times maybe making and selling these in BiH could become my cottage industry.  Comparable ones on Amazon with the snare run around $200.

Leave a comment