Singing in Sarajevo

On a whim, my dear friend invited me to an “Open Mic Night” at a British pub in Sarajevo last Saturday night. Excited and nervous, I said yes.  I said yes because, even though I am sleep deprived, exhausted, and still very much adjusting to being a two-kid mom, I came back to Bosnia determined to use my voice.  I came back determined to enter the world of the arts, as a means of building more friendships for the sake of the Kingdom.

After putting Nora to bed, I got all dressed up and waited for my friends to pick me up.  We got to the pub, and walked up a hill in the snow to reach the old wooden doors.  As we entered this hobbit-style door, I felt my stomach clench.  I was nervous.  The band was setting up, and seats were full. My friend introduced me to the owner of the pub, who is also the director of a band that has gigs all over the city.

I asked him if I could sing tonight, and he said of course.  Only a few moments later, I sang my first song, Crazy, by Patsy Cline. As soon as I was done, the owner of the pub came back and began our conversation with, “So, you live here? I didn’t know you existed! How long are you planning to stay here in Sarajevo?” He eventually asked me if I would be interested in performing with their Blue Grass band whenever they have gigs in town.  Yes!

I sang a couple more songs that night, including old favorite Stand By Me, and Come Away With Me, by Norah Jones.  Needless to say, I left the pub elated, thankful for an open door into the music scene in Sarajevo. I pray that this leads to great things, and I look forward to what God has in store for me this year through singing…

One thought on “Singing in Sarajevo

Leave a comment