Winter’s Last Fight

Two days ago, it began to snow again.  It’s mid-March, and we’re ready for spring!  Now, we can’t complain because we just got here.  However, it’s been difficult to figure out how to entertain my toddler when we have to spend the whole day inside.

There is a phrase in Bosnian for this snow phenomenon: “zadnji trzaj zime.”  Winter’s last twitch.  If that looks like a mouthful, don’t worry, it is! We are hoping that this really IS the last time we see the snow until next Winter.

I recently made a commitment to rejoice in all things, and so I want to share with you what I found myself thankful for on the that day the snow came back:

1.  The sound of snowflakes falling on my umbrella
2.  The hush that ensues once the snow falls on the city
3.  Everything clean and covered in sparkling white
4.  My warm apartment waiting for me when I returned home

Thank You Lord, for these gifts, and thanks that spring is almost here!  According to weather.com, it’s spring in 3 days, 4 hours, and change.  But who’s counting? 

Leave a comment